Bobby’s Burritos

Bobby's Burritos

A burrito is a type of Mexican and Tex-Mex food, consisting of a large wheat flour tortilla with a filling, wrapped into a closed-ended cylinder, in contrast to a taco, where the tortilla is simply folded around the filling.

I never knew such a thing existed so close to home. The first time I tried a burrito was when KFC added it to its menu.
Did I like it? NO, I was expecting it to be like a twister, but it was far from it. It was heavy and very very filling.
Then I came across a recipe in one my recipe books on how to make a burrito. I have had this particular recipe book for almost 2 years, but I keep paging past the burrito recipe as I thought it was this complicated recipe, but when I actually took the time out to read this recipe it was easier than I thought.
The only complicated thing that I found dreading was that the recipe asked to use Passata.  I have never heard of it before. But when I looked up how to make passata, I found that it was actually tomato puree, see simple, there I was stressing that I had to make passata before I could actually make the burrito, when all I had to do was open a bottle of tomato puree.

Ingredients:
1 tbsp. olive oil.
1 onion, finely chopped.
1 clove garlic, finely chopped.
500g lamb mince.
1 420g tin of chopped tomatoes.
4 jalapeno chillies, sliced.
1 420g tin borlotti beans, rinsed and drained.
125ml vegetable stock.
1 tbsp parsley, chopped.
12 store-bought ready-made tortillas
Tomato puree.
50g cheddar cheese, grated.
3 spring onions, chopped.
Salt and pepper to season.

Method;
Heat a pan with the oil, add the onions and garlic and saute till transparent.
Using a slotted spoon, remove the onions from the pan and set aside.
Add the mince to the pan and cook until the mince is nice and brown and there are no more pink meat left.
Add the onion mixture to the mince as well as the jalapeno chillies.
Add the borlotti beans, the stock and parsley.
Mix well and season.
Cover the pan and allow to cook for 20 minutes on a medium heat.
Remove the lid and allow to cook uncovered till all the liquid has been absorbed.
Remove from the heat.
Fill your tortillas and roll up.
Place side by side on a baking tray.
Pour a little tomato puree over the top of each tortilla.
Sprinkle the grated cheese over the top.
Pop into a pre-heated oven and bake at 180C for 15 – 20 minutes, or until the cheese melts.
Remove from the oven and sprinkle the chopped spring onions over the top.

Prepared, tried and tested by: Bobby Swanson

Please check out, join, comment, participate and follow
The Recipe Hunter (Cook & Enjoy) on
Twitter: @TRH_Cook
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/therecipehunter/
Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/cookandenjoy/
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/therecipehunter/
Blog: https://cookandenjoyrecipes.wordpress.com/

This entry was posted in Dinner Supper, Lunch, Meat dishes and tagged , by cookandenjoyrecipes. Bookmark the permalink.

About cookandenjoyrecipes

I have a passion to cook and experiment, and have gathered recipes for almost 50+ years (paper and then electronic). I felt it an absolute waste to just toss all those wonderful recipes in the garbage and forget about them, thus decided to put them to good use and started “The Recipe Hunter” Facebook page: The Recipe Hunter (Cook &Enjoy) and the Blog

Leave a Reply

