Es’s Low Carb Lemon Cheesecake on a Pepita and Brown Rice Pie Crust

Es's LC Cheesecake4

Do you ♥ a challenge? Well, I do.  We’re visiting with friends on Sunday, and I asked our host what I can contribute to the menu.
Her response: Please bring dessert (gluten-free, egg free, almond free) IF POSSIBLE. Sorry you got the challenge!!

My response: ♥ challenges
Well then I “hunted” and asked Caashifa for help and came up with the following:

Pepitas and Brown Rice Pie Crust
Ingredients
Wet ingredients:
2 flax eggs = 2 Tblspn flaxmeal + 6 Tblspns warm water
Mix together and allow to thicken for at least 3-5 minutes
Add 6 tablespoons melted coconut oil and mix through

Es's LC Cheesecake.jpg

Dry ingredients:
1 cup pepita flour* (I took Pepitas/Pumpkin seeds and ground it to flour in a blender)
1 cup brown rice flour**
¼ tspn salt
1 tspn xanthan gum
½ cup stevia

Method
Place Pumpkin seeds in a food processer and pulse till you have flour.
Add in the rest of the dry ingredients and mix.
Add the wet ingredients and mix till it forms a dough.
Spread the dough into a greased pie plate and press to even out the bottom and sides to similar thickness.
Cover with aluminum foil and bake in a preheated oven at 180C / 350F for 30 minutes.
Remove tinfloil and continue to bake till crust is light brown and crispy, ±20-25 minutes.
Cool and store in the refrigerator until ready to fill.

Recipe credit: Caashifa Adams Young 
Caashifa used sunflower seed flour* and sesame flour**, but as I did not have the ingredients she used, typically me, I adapted her recipe to what I had availble for the crust.

Low Carb Lemon Cheesecake

Es's LC Cheesecake2

Ingredients
Juice of 2 lemons
Rind of 2 lemons
250 ml cream
250g cottage cheese
5g gelatin (I used 1 sachet @ 7g)
¼ cup boiling water
1 tspn vanilla essense
¼ cup stevia

Method:
Dissolve the gelatin in the water, stir well and leave to cool.
Whisk the stevia and cream together, with a hand held electric mixer.
Add the rest of the ingredients and only ½ of the lemon zest, and continue to beat till soft peak stadium.
Pour into the prepared base and decorate with the remaining zest.
Refrigerate for 2 hours.  I left mine overnight.

I served it with a store-bought wipped cream, on the side, and a spinkle of grated chocolate for decoration.

Recipe credit: Caashifa Adams Young 
Prepared, tried and tested:  Esme Slabs

Please check out, join, comment, participate and follow
The Recipe Hunter (Cook & Enjoy) on
Twitter: @TRH_Cook
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/therecipehunter/
Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/cookandenjoy/
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/therecipehunter/
Blog: https://cookandenjoyrecipes.wordpress.com/

4 thoughts on “Es’s Low Carb Lemon Cheesecake on a Pepita and Brown Rice Pie Crust

    • Thank you so much Heidi – This one was born out of need. I am also GF but have never made this before. I must admit, eventhough I made it myself, it turned out pretty yummy.
      Please let me know what you think of it when you make it. Any feedback will be welcome

      Like

Leave a Reply

