Corlea’s Ystervarkies (Lamingtons)

TRH Corlea's Ystervarkies (Lamingtons)

Saw Selvie Moodley ‘s post recently with lamingtons, and thought it was a sign. My husband has been begging me to make these for YEARS! So I thought I’d try to find another recipe so that there were 2 options. I made a less soft cake that was easy to handle. To my pleasant surprise, it softened up beautifully once dipped. The original recipe writer says she always leaves a cake or two in her freezer, ready to make the sauce and dip. So I froze mine very slightly before cutting, and it was so easy to work with! I might keep a cake in the freezer too!

Ingredients:
250g margarine
2 cups sugar (I used 1 1/2)
4 eggs
125mL milk
3 cups flour
15mL baking powder
5mL vanilla extract
1/2 tsp salt

Method:
Cream butter and sugar together.
Add eggs 1 at a time, beating well after each addition.
Add milk and vanilla, and mix well.
Sift dry ingredients together, add to the wet, then fold in gently until combined.
Bake 45-60mins in 360°F oven or until skewer comes out clean.
Then cool completely and freeze (optional, but certainly recommended!).
Cut into small blocks, about 40 or so.

Chocolate dipping sauce:
(Recipe had white and pink sauces too, but I stuck to just this one at first. Will try the others next time.)

Ingredients:
3 cups sugar (I used 2 1/2)
3/4 cup cocoa powder
1 1/2 cups water
15ml margarine

Method:
Heat sugar, cocoa and water until melted, stirring most of the time.
Heat to a boil, then remove from heat and stir in the butter.
Dip each cake square in the sauce while still warm.
Then coat in unsweetened desiccated coconut.
Let it stand a day before serving.
I made these yesterday, and they were delicious. Today, they’re to die for!!

Source: Boerekos met ‘n Twist
Prepared, tried and tested by:  Corlea Smit

4 thoughts on “Corlea’s Ystervarkies (Lamingtons)

  1. Pingback: frankensportblog

Leave a Reply

